#GIRLBOSS

So its been a quite a while since my last post- sorry to anyone who actually reads my blog, all three of you must be beside yourselves. Obviously.

Now, I’ve had my holiday and I’ve had my break, I’m ready to get back to blogging. As always I went away with my family and this year we travelled down to Cornwall, if you haven’t been go, its so so great. Thus bringing the inevitable choosing of my ‘holiday book’. However, what a pick! #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso was recommended to me when I Interviewed Tir_Na_Nog and is perhaps one of the best and most motivating books I’ve ever read. Why believe me right? Well because I said so and as someone that is passionate about what I do (all things fashion and creative) it is truly inspiring and here’s why:Girlboss-book-Sophia-Amoruso-nasty-gal-quote-weddinggirl

The author, Sophie Amoruso is a self made millionaire and her book is a rags to riches story with the underlining theme of hard graft and persistence. Her style of writing is informal as she describes relatable hurdles that every young creative must over come. From tips on cover letters to honest truths that success doesn’t come easy.

‘You combine hard work, creativity, and self determination, and things start to happen. And once you start to understand that alchemy, or even just recognise it you can begin to see the world in a different way’ – Sophia Amoruso #GIRLBOSS

#GIRLBOSS outlines the journey that Amoruso has taken to get to where she is today. If you didn’t know (I had no clue) she built the brand Nasty Girl. Starting from selling vintage items on EBay, to now founder, CEO and creative director of Nasty Girl. Now a $100 million plus online fashion retailer with more than 350 employees. Of course I don’t want to tell you too much or I’l ruin the book but if your interested in the creative industry, especially fashion then this book a must.

Hope you enjoy!

-The Lanky Giraffethebook01

 

 

Leave a Reply

