Fairy Tale Fashion

The first of two exhibitions I visited at FIT in New York. A beautiful collection of dresses, accessories and photography all inspired by or descriptive of the beautiful, magical world of fairytales. Ive picked a few of my favourite pieces from the exhibition, apologies for the mad camera quality I left my good camera back at the hotel with the understanding that we wouldn’t be allowed to take pictures! So it had to be off my iPhone when we were told we could on entering.IMG_9637 IMG_9638


One of the first pieces I came across as I walked in really stood out to me. Kirstey Mitchell’s Wonderland photo series. The description reveals that she doesn’t use photoshop in her work. The images are inspired by books from her childhood; however produced using only camera work and elaborate sets and costumes.

IMG_9644
‘Once upon a time’ 2009
IMG_9647
‘The ghost swift’ 2012

Rose Red

Thome Browne

Womans wear resemble fall 2013

When reading the sort description of this dress I learnt that ‘Rose Red’ was Snow Whites sister; both named after rose bushes from their mothers garden. This dress reminded me there is still so much mystery and stories to be told from fairytales. The characters are timeless and no matter what age you always want to learn more about them. IMG_9661


A stand-up collar

Zuhair Murad

Gown, spring 15 Haute Couture

My favourite piece form the exhibition- I fell in love with it like a girl does when it comes to ball gowns and princesses. The description of this gown talks about how the french author Charles Perrault wrote sleeping beauty (La Belle au bois Dormant) to wear a ‘magnificent’ gown. This was truly magnificent. I especially love the stand up collar combined with the plunging neck line- if a prince ever takes me to a ball I will wear this dress.IMG_9670


Magical and Mischievous spirit

Giles

Dress fall 2012

A beautiful dress with an undeniable fairytale feel. Reminded me of Cinderella combining the distressed  burnt look with the idea of Cinderella being mistreated and forced to clean fire places etc. IMG_9689

Leave a Reply

